West Seattle Fence Testimonials


starstarstarstarstar

I cannot say enough about the great work you did and are very happy. The way you professionally handled the fencing, the care and careful management you showed, the hard work to finish in just 2 days, and the way the James cleaned up the site and even hung our mailbox was really appreciated by both of us! The fencing and the cedar you used is beautiful!
- Tim R. | Seattle, WA | 02/07/2014 | via email


starstarstarstarstar

This is a belated review for a fence that James put up for us at the beginning of the summer. I was very pleased with West Seattle Fence/James's service but I thought it wise to wait for a few months to see how it fared. Still impressed! James offered advice on style, size, and design of the fence and gates. He was patient and reassuring and, sure enough, he was spot on. The fence looks great and is wearing well. The gate and side wings that he fit into an existing pergola integrated so nicely that no one can tell that it wasn't always meant to be that way. On top of it all I believe his price was the best to boot. Thank you again for the great job. When the other neighbor's fence collapses you know who we will call.
- Chris N. | Seattle, WA | 10/03/2013 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

James is a master builder. My fence has weathered many high winds since he put it up for me several years ago. It has stood the test of time. I highly recommend him.
- Betsy B. | Seattle, WA | 04/03/2012 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

We're in the process of re-designing our front yard and needed someone to install about 20 ft of fence. We read all the great reviews on Yelp about James' work so we thought we'd give him a try. We're so happy we did. Even though they were booked about 2 months out, James and his on the ball secretary Patty managed to sneak my lil fence project in at the tail end of one of his other jobs. On the day of the project, James showed up around 1:30 in the afternoon while I was at work and had the entire fence finished by the time I came home (that includes a couple trips to the lumber yard)! And what a fence it is! Without a doubt, 5 stars. Thanks James and Patty!
- Juniper M. | Seattle, WA | 07/22/2012 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

If there could be more stars, I'd give them! West Seattle Fence is awesome! James came out to visit with us in late June and spent a lot of time looking over the details of our yard and fence needs. While we waited for him to finish another job, he even came out to put up a couple sections of temporary fencing and a gate to keep our dogs contained. His quote was very fair, but really, when he was here every day on site during the construction of our fence, I quickly realized his quote was beyond fair! Our fence was quite intricate to put together came out beautifully. Every board was cut by hand and carefully installed. It looks great, is SOLID as a rock in terms of structure, and really goes nicely with the house. James was very helpful in many small design aspects too, using dutch double gates and such. Can't recommend West Seattle Fence highly enough!
- Ron G. | Seattle, WA | 09/10/2011 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

We too were working with James during the time he was attending a funeral for a family member back east. We had a similar communication experience (not great), but because of all the glowing reviews, we kept at it and adjusted our schedule to accommodate his. His estimate was thorough and because we were asking for some special soundproofing material to be installed as well, it was more complex. James really is a generous spirit and knows his fencing too.

Eventually the fence was built and it made a huge difference. It is very beautiful and we have gotten many glowing comments from neighbors who walk their dogs in the neighborhood and don't normally comment on much. James also had to build an addition to an older, not so beautiful fence, and managed to install it so that it not only matches but enhances the older fence. And the topping on the cake for us was that he came back just before our wedding in our back yard and installed decorative fencing strips that we couldn't fit into the initial schedule, that made the fence even more attractive.

Be patient with the scheduling and communications especially during his busy seasons, and you will find it's worth it. He's a craftsman of the highest order. Other friends who are contractors have also admired the exceptional detail in the fence (wood on top rail cut at an angle to avoid moisture penetration, fence posts anchored in a bolt anchored in the ground rather than directly in the ground as pressure treated wood in the ground does rot eventually, even high grade pressure treated wood, etc.).
- Alice G. | Seattle, WA | 09/06/2013 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

West Seattle Fence Is Great. My company builds large decks and fences in North Seattle Shoreline area 365 days a year and always send our extra work to James. He probably has no idea how many fence he has completed for friends and customers of mine over the years. I also send him fence jobs in south Seattle and west Seattle because its just too far for me to commute for work. About 4 years ago I met James at a Home Depot and he told me his story, and how All City Fence Company changed, leading him to start his own business. Although were competitors, were located far apart enough that I have no problem giving his number to customers that call in each week from his area because I know his quality of work is the best around. I found him to be very personable and kind. Over the years while I am busy doing various remodels and painting or decks, I have seen the fences James has built for a lot of our customers I referred to him and I am impressed with his work. I continue to give customers James number almost every week of the year for the last several years because I am either too busy or the work is closer to James. I am completely happy with the work and professionalism James offers. James has an eye for perfection just like me and that means a lot to the people I have given his number to. Although I have not spoke to James since that day at Home Depot, I have got a few calls from customers thanking me for his number after he did an awesome fence job. I highly recommend West Seattle Fence for people who want a solid strong beautiful fence done by and expert in the industry. For the few bad reviews about scheduling, I would have to say that this is just how the trade works and ask people to understand that fence builders like James work harder than a lot of people and sometimes this causes scheduling issues, especially when your busy giving your current customer 100% before moving on to the next job. I deal with this all the time and my company also has had to reschedule occasionally, it just happens sometimes. Usually the busy guys are the best guys. Call James for a bid, I know you will be 100% happy and offer him a 5 Star Yelp review when its all done.
- Ryan R. | Seattle, WA | 03/16/2014 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

I just had a very good experience with West Seattle Fence. We put in a cedar fence, with a gate, along one side of our property. James, the owner, is very personable. The whole job was done in two partial days --one to set the posts and the other to put up the rest. It is obviously high-quality clear cedar and has the type of nails that won't 'bleed' in the rain. James designed a clever niche around a tree branch that is quite attractive. He and his assistant were very careful with our plants and with our patio furniture, pottery etc. that had to be moved out of the way; they cleared away even more ivy than was necessary, which was very helpful to me.
- Tom L. | Seattle, WA | 5/19/2012 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

James and Jacob just replaced our sad old front yard picket fence with a beautiful cedar fence that is receiving constant compliments from neighbors as they walk by. They worked through two torrential days of rain and never complained once. In the back yard, they replaced a privacy fence that was built on a tricky slope. James suggested building up the slope with some chunks of concrete, which made the fence look a lot better. On top of everything else, they even posted a "free" ad on craigslist to help recycle the more usable portions of our old fencing. I highly recommend them.
- Ann S. | Seattle, WA | 5/16/2012 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

We are so, so pleased with our fence. It looks great (beautiful cedar) and James was excellent at coming up with ways to deal with the grading issues in our yard. I would highly recommend him to anyone.
- Eric C. | Seattle, WA | 2/14/2012 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

I am another customer with a FIVE STAR review. Use this company and help it grow. The work was completed on time, within budget, of high quality, and with excellent communication throughout. Hoorah for James and West Seattle Fence.
- Raleigh W. | Seattle, WA | 2/9/2012 | via Yelp


starstarstarstarstar

As others have said, I wish there were more stars to give! West Seattle Fence was fantastic!!! James came out to give us a quote just a few days after we first contacted him. He had some very creative ideas on how to solve our fence/gate issues - solutions none of the other fence companies thought of when they came out to give quotes. When West Seattle Fence's bid came in, it was very reasonable. We were more than happy to accept his bid! Our job was relatively small, and James and his crew of one were able to fit us in to his busy schedule and do it in just a day and a half (a half day for setting posts, one day for everything else). But it wasn't just fast, James does extremely good work! The gates and fence are sturdy as all heck and look *gorgeous*!! Everything was cut and set by hand, and James even does his own welding. We are so very thrilled with the work James did!!! And on top of all of that, it was an absolute pleasure having him here - he was prompt, was more than accommodating to all the other chaos going on around the place, and even stayed well past sunset to finish the job. We really couldn't be happier!! If you have any fence or gate work that needs doing, you really must talk contact West Seattle Fence!!
- Andy C. | Seattle, WA | 12/10/2011 | via Yelp


For additional reviews, check us out on Yelp >>


West Seattle Fence